Thoughts from an former vegetarian

Amanda with 2010 fair piglets

I didn’t eat meat for 4 years while in high school. I thought it was cruel. I slowly added meat back into my life while in the Navy and having limited choices.

 

But I have always struggled with the concept of eating meat.

Amanda with piglet at 250 lbs. Sept 2010

I wasn’t sure I could raise an adorable 40lb piglet into a 300lb hog and then eat him. It was a somewhat horrifying proposition.

But, honestly, it has all seemed very wholesome and natural. We raise these adorable piglets and calves into adults. They were well cared for. We know what they ate. The living conditions were wonderful for a farm animal.

And at 300 lbs they aren’t so cute. They are strong. And stubborn. And tasty.

I wondered how the kids would react.  I wanted them to understand what they ate and where food comes from. If any decided to given up meat, as several of my nieces have, it would come from an informed decision. They would know that pork chops don’t grow on grocery store shelves in plastic.

 

The kids, of course, responded better than me.  They were saddened at auction, but had no trouble eating the meat.  It was delicious.  They all wanted to raise another piglet the next year.

 

Mike with Speck, 2011

As we look forward to our third year rasing fair animals, it becomes routine. Simply provide comfortable living conditions, healthy food, clean water, and a clean shelter.  Treat them kindly.

 

I never take for granted what we eat. I try very hard to cook everything and not waste.  Just seems respectful to the animals

3 responses

  1. I could never raise something,name it, then eat it, myself. And I know, I am a hypocrite of the worst kind for it. At least the animals you eat had a decent life while they were being raised for slaughter. Some of the abuses I’ve seen toward animals in these blogs (especially some of the stuff Ann informs us of) makes me first want to cry, then go on a manhunt. There is no excuse to abuse animals the way some people do. So, kudos to you for at least loving your animals and respecting them prior to sending them to slaughterhouse.

  2. I really thought I would struggle with it! I remember thinking I could never eat those pigs. And while I was sad, at the time, it really was ok, seemed to be the natural circle of life

  3. Oh my goodness I love these pictures of your kids and pigs. I love how having livestock projects is a family affair—it really is a great learning tool for everyone involved.

Leave a Reply

